Granville covers the suburbs of Clyde, Camellia, Harris Park, Rose Hill, Guildford, Merrylands, from Alice Street Granville in the north, south to the Pipe Line near Chesterhill west to the railway line at Merrylands and east to Duck River.
About Traditional owners:
The Granville area has been occupied by the Burramattagal people, a clan of Darug speaking people, who lived along the upper reaches of the Parramatta River. Barramattagal is thought to be derived from the Aboriginal word "place where the eels lie down".
Exploration & Settlement:
The history of Granville dates away back almost to the coming of the first settlers. It is recorded that a few days after the landing of Governor Phillip and his followers on the picturesque shores of Port Jackson, the intrepid, but humane Captain John Hunter R.N. afterwards Governor, on one of his trips of exploration reached the banks of the Duck River and with his attendants were the first Europeans to gaze upon the fair face of what is now Granville. The Granville area was a forest, the timber was used to build Parramatta and Sydney.
The landing of Governor Phillip took place on the 26th January 1788, and Captain Hunters trip to Granville was during the closing days of the same month - January 1788.
Granville was named after the Earl of Granville George Leveson Gower.
Typical Sawyers Cottage.